Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Title:  Yes Please download.jpg
AuthorAmy Poehler

Genre: Non-fiction

Length: 329

Where Stacie’s Copy Came From:  Oshkosh Public Library

Plot Basics: Yes Please is Amy Poehler’s story of her career and life philosophy.  She shares anecdotes from her first 40ish years and how they shaped the woman we see on the screen.

Banter Points:  I picked up this book because, in the past, I had a very loud, very large voice saying uncomplimentary things about women like Poehler. I realized it wasn’t my own opinion and that I didn’t know enough to form any sort of opinion. It was available on audio when I was looking for a book.

I love when coincidence works out.

Poehler shares her life in a way that made me think about choices I’ve made. Did I agree or did I disagree? was the question most often in my mind as I read. Not, wow, I wouldn’t do that. Ever. Or, wow, I’m so on board with that. Always. I can’t pinpoint what it is about her writing style that made it a thoughtful space for consideration, rather than a space where I judged my actions and choices against hers.

In reading between the lines, I’d bet that Poehler has experience with recovery and learning to accept people, rather than judge them. Creating written space with this sort of awareness is challenging, and she nails it.

Also, the audio is read by Poehler and a few guests. Loved this.

Bummer Points:  None.

Stacie’s Recommendation:  Loved this book.  Depending on how the year goes, it’s a top ten consideration.  Reading it impacted me strongly as a reader, and fit into my reading goals for the year which is to read books that are going to challenge my world view.

Leave a Reply

