Happy National Popcorn Day

Clearly, I know what snack I’m making tonight.

My love of popcorn goes back to my childhood. Popcorn was a treat I’d get sometimes (most often served with orange juice) while watching The Muppet Show. We didn’t get the popcorn maker out all that often, so it was special when we did.

popcorn-bookI also read Tomie dePaola’s “The Popcorn Book” (a 1978 classic) many times over as a kid. When I was home for the holidays, I was sorting through some of my things left in the attic and I found my copy. It’s beat up from the multiple readings and the 20 years (at least) boxed up and hidden away in the attic, suffering through the heat/cold changes of that space.

As I flipped through the book, I was amazed at how much of it I remembered.

The book also taught (re-taught) me that I’m storing my popcorn kernels all wrong, as I don’t have them in an airtight container. My solution for that, currently, is just to eat up what I’ve got.

P.S. Tomorrow is National Cheese Day. I’ll celebrate that one too.

Leave a Reply

