Book Banter: Grace (Eventually) by Anne Lamott

Title:  Grace (Eventually)51MRl+cTjCL._SX300_BO1,204,203,200_
Author:  Anne Lamott
Genre:  Non-fiction
Length:  253 pages
Where Stacie’s Copy Came From:  Oshkosh Public Library
Plot Basics:  Anne Lamott details the places she has found, and continues to find grace in her life.

Banter Points:  My admiration for Lamott increases with each book of hers I read.  Grace (Eventually) pulls the reader into her life as a mother, friend, church leader, and homeowner, and what grace looks like in each role.

Like other books, Lamott’s transparency about her recovery warms my heart.  Life is struggle and she has the courage to name the struggle.  Lamott tells a story about her son Sam, when he is 16, and what is it like to parent at that age.  It is a story that Sam allows her to tell, which to my thinking, provides insight into their on-going relationship as adult child and parent.  She tells of how he tests her rules and boundaries, her reactions and frustrations, and what grace looks like from her to him.  Personally, I related strongly to this idea of grace as I have a pair of teen boys, one of whom is 16 and grace is something I struggle to find inside of myself for him.  Lamott practices Honest Parenting, which means talking about the bad things too.  I’m blessed with kids who are smart and funny, and as we walk into the transition that will be their adulthood, Honest Parenting becomes increasingly important to me.  Especially when those smart and funny kids are practicing their future negotiations, logic, and reasoning on me, my rules, and my boundaries.

One of the great things about listening to the books is that Lamott is the reader.  She has a very conversational tone to her reading.  There were times, I could have paused the book and said, “Oh, me too!  Let me tell you about my 16yo.”  The presentation is very personal, and is a great choice by the publisher.

Bummer Points:  None with the book.  Now, if I could only muster up  the courage to ask her to be my big sister.

Stacie’s Recommendation: Check out this one.

Leave a Reply

