Peach Crisp

One of the best kept secrets for my summer is Tree Ripe. They bring peaches and blueberries straight from the farms they contract with to my neighborhood. I usually get one or two boxes of each throughout the summer. And proceed to gorge myself on peaches and and flash freeze the blueberries. Yum.

Tonight, I made peach crisp. I have no nerdy word-things to share because, Peaches!

Instead, I offer my peach crisp recipe from my trusted Better Homes and Garden cook book. I use this as a guideline, rather than a recipe.

5 cups fruit (or whatever looks right in my multi quart cooking vessel)

2-4 tablespoons sugar (or the scoop I keep in my sugar)

1/2 cup rolled oats (not the quick cook kind)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg, or ginger

1/4 butter

Placed sliced peaches in cooking vessel. I use a Pyrex pan that I think is 2 quarts, and add peach slices until it’s an inch from the top. Top with sugar and stir.

Mix remaining ingredients in a bowl and combine. I use a pastry cutter until everything is crumbly.

Secret step: I double the crisp. I love crisp. More the better. I have no idea if I have doubled the peaches.

Baked for 30 to 35 minutes at 375. Can serve with ice cream, but seriously, why wreck it?

Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

