July Reading Challenge Report Card

July’s challenge was to read a “hot” book. “Hot” was to be define by the reader — hot like sexy, hot in the title, hot as popular. Here’s how the Word Nerds did.

Stacie’s Pick:  I picked “Hot Water” by Erin Brockovich and CJ Lyons as my pick, going with the “Hot” in the title.  This book didn’t do it for me as a reader.  The book was about 300 pages long (287 to be exact) and had two storylines that while connected, moved and resolved fast because everyone had all of the information, skills and luck needed to piece everything together.  I’m a fan of flawed heros and action that develops characters, and this was strictly action.  On the screen, this is exactly what I want from a movie.  Just not between the pages.

Bethany’s Pick: I intended to read a hot-as-in-popular book, looking at Noah Hawley’s “Before the Fall.” But, then I discovered 188 other people had it on hold from the Library and I’d never get my hands on it before July was over. So, since I’d been reading Bec McMaster’s London Steampunk romance series, I went with a hot-as-sexy book pick to finish off the series with “Of Silk and Steam.” It was OK, not as good as some of the other ones and I’m glad the series is over. I wanted to put it down, but refused to DNF this challenge.

Leave a Reply

