Laundry Soap

I’ve been pretty keen to try making may own laundry soap for a while now. I can’t remember when I first got the idea, and it’s definitely been on my “to do” list for at least a year. The main hold up was that I didn’t have any real life friends who tried it. I mean, it sounds fab, but so do lots of things on the internet…

image

I got the following recipe from my friend and spent about 30 minutes making it last weekend.

2 cups Borax
2 cups Arm and Hammer Super  Wash (which isn’t the same thing as baking soda, just the same company)
2 bars Fels-Naptha soap
1 cup Downy Unstoppables

I spent about $16, have 80 loads of washing that I can do, and next time I only need to spend $2 on the bars of soap. Definitely cost effective.

The bars of soap need to be ground, which I did with a cheese grater, then my food processor. After that, which was the majority of the work, I mixed everything in an ice cream pail, gave the kids a run down on how to measure it (1 tbsp per normal load.)

I’ve done three or four loads with this and I’m happy with the results. The laundry feels good, smells nice and no soap reside on my dress-up clothes (bonus in my book.)

If you’ve been considering this switch, try it out.

Leave a Reply

