May Reading Challenge Report Card

May’s challenge was to read your significant other (or BFF’s) favorite book ever.

Here’s how we did.

imagesStacie:  For the May Reading Challenge, I read, It by Stephen King. This is an author / genre I’ve avoided for most all of my reading life and my significant other (Hi, Mike!) is a huge fan. As our reading tastes tend to run along the same favorites, we were equally outraged at the other’s view on this author. As he regularly reads suggestions I make, I decided to read It with an open mind and no preconceptions other than what the cover blub said.

Wow. Normally, I avoid horror stories because I cannot separate the book from my imagination and the horror of the story lives there too long. That wasn’t the case here for a few reasons:

  1. While horrifying at times, this isn’t a slash and burn horror story. I’d put it in this in the psychological thriller genre. The mind games played by It were the sort that I usually enjoy reading about when they are contained to sociopaths in novels.
  2. As I read, I could separate and analysis the novel’s events and dysfunctional relationships rather than experiencing them and reacting to them. This is a huge milestone for me as a person and is quite reflective of my personal journey and experiences in 2015 (which was quite life altering for me in many ways.
  3. My expectations about Stephen King’s writing really didn’t fit the actual story. I was doing that very thing I dislike in others and making assumptions and broad sweeping statements with little or no facts to back it up. Yep, I uncovered a bias.

This has been a true reading Challenge for me as I walked away with several new thoughts about this author and my whole concept of this genre. If I was grading the challenge results, this month would be an A+.

the-martian-book-cover-530x806Bethany: First off, I cheated. If I asked the hubby about his favorite, he’d probably say Dan Brown. I tried one Dan Brown book once, made it a whole 2 pages (maybe) and put it down. Also, for the past year, I’ve been his audiobook dealer, so I’ve gotten a pretty good sense of the ones he’s really enjoyed and the ones I’ve sort of forced him through. Enter, “The Martian.” He’s been badgering me to read it because it’s good and there’s a movie version. Ah-ha! I think, I have a new choice — “The Martian” it was.

I have mixed feelings about this book. I actually think it’s going to be a better movie (gasp!) There are some weird things that happen in the book, head-hopping and weird shifts in POV, just when I think a pattern has been established. Also, I think the level of peril will feel higher on the screen than the page. It’s been said that cheaters never win, but I think I did pretty well with this challenge.

Leave a Reply

