Book Banter: Pines

pinesTitle: Pines (Wayward Pines #1)

Author: Blake Crouch

Length: ~300 pages

Genre: Thriller

Where Bethany’s Copy Came From: IndyPL

Plot Basics: Secret Service agent Ethan Burke wakes up in the small town of Wayward Pines, struggling to remember how he got there and what he’s supposed to do. As he fumbles through, the town gets weirder and Burke finds that leaving might not just be hard, it could be impossible.

Banter Points: I’d heard a lot about this series from my friends in the mystery community. FOX also turned it into some kind of TV mini-series event, so I decided to give it a try.

The hook/set-up for the book was great. I was drawn in and feeling off-base like Ethan was, which I suspect was the idea.

Bummer Points: Crouch has a writing style of using short sentences. Like this. In short paragraphs.
Over and over.
To build tension.
It got old.

Lee Child does this trick in the Reacher books. In short bursts, it’s really effective for building tension and moving things along. But Crouch, in my opinion, relied on it far too heavily.The problem was, by the end of the book, I was skimming more than reading because these short sentences didn’t hold my attention. When he finally got to the big, major, plot twist I almost missed it.

Word Nerd Recommendation: Stacie asked me what I thought of the book and my answer was, “I loved it, then I hated it, then I decided it was OK at the end.” I’ve got book two on hold from the library because I’m interested enough to finish it.

Leave a Reply

