Book Banter: Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

Title:  Big Magic:  Creative Living Beyond Fear24453082

Author:  Elizabeth Gilbert

Genre:  Non-fiction

Length:  288 pages

Where Stacie’s Copy Came From: Oshkosh Public Library

Plot Basics:  Living creatively is about accepting some of life’s mysteries and realizing how the universe speaks to each individual.  The creative process is a combination of pursuit, time, and openness.

Banter Points:  I’ve been a fan of Elizabeth Gilbert since I read “Eat, Pray, Love” and found a new perspective on several aspects of my own life.  I came into Big Magic with no expectations other than another good reading from Gilbert.  What I found was a creative process that so closely matches my own experience with writing and living that I feel as those Gilbert is a long lost sister (friend?) that I had no idea was possible.

Gilbert acknowledges that the creative process can sound mystic and that there’s an aspect of “magic” to it.  However, she also points to the endurance that is needed. Creativity isn’t a muse that visits, but rather a single idea that visits someone who is willing to listen.  Gilbert states too that she suspect her creativity is often sitting and watching her to see if she working hard enough to warrant a visit.

Bummer Points:  While I enjoyed this book, I got the message about half way through.  I felt like there was a high amount of repetition without value, rather than repetition that deepening my understanding.  Your experience may vary.

Stacie’s Recommendation:  If you are curious about the creative process and how the universe can speak to someone, Gilbert does an excellent job of explaining it.  Even with the bummer point, I’d still recommend this book to a writer struggling with inspiration or a budding writing who wonders about the process.

Leave a Reply

