The Force Awakens

The whole internet has probably watched the trailer for The Force Awakens, but in case you haven’t, I’ll put it here….


So.

I can’t help but get chills when I watch this.

Like a lot of kids from the 80s, I grew up on Star Wars. I have very distinct memories of when Star Wars was on TV, circa 1987, and all my friends came to school the next day having watched it. We played Star Wars on the playground for weeks afterwards.

In 1991, I was given Timothy Zahn’s “Heir to the Empire” book for Christmas, the book that really re-opened the canon. I read Star Wars books fairly regularly through high school.

When I heard they were making Episode VII, I, like a lot of people was nervous. I still am. But there’s one piece of dialogue in the trailer that makes me think maybe they’ll get this right. 

“There are stories about what happened.”

“It’s true,” says Han Solo. “All of it. The Dark Side. The Jedi. They’re real.”

This clinches it because I think this is what we want as fans. America doesn’t have much of a mythos that’s unique to us. We struggle (and rightly) with a lot of our Founding Fathers (see Thomas Jefferson) because of our actual history.

But Star Wars.

That story is a myth we want to get behind. That good triumphs over evil. That the galaxy that can be saved. That we might really be an undiscovered Jedi.

Han’s line about “they’re real” is what so many of us want.

Here’s to hoping that The Force Awakens in the way we want it to.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

