Baked Oatmeal

Recently, some friends had their first baby and I took them a meal and decided to make them breakfast for dinner (because bacon, right?)

I found this recipe through Taste of Home and it’s amazing. After making it for them, I’ve made it for myself twice. I think I’ll try other fruit combos someday, but this version is awfully good.

I’ve halved this recipe because there’s one-to-two people eating it in my house. Double everything except the oats (up to 3 cups, not 4 and use 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg) and bake in a bigger pan for more.

2 cups old-fashioned slow oatsoatmaeled

14/ cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 egg white

1 egg

1/2 c. + 1/8 c milk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 c. oil

1/2 c (heaping) fresh or frozen blueberries

1/2 can no sugar added canned peaches, drained and diced

1/4 c chopped walnuts

Mix all dry ingredients. Mix all wet ingredients but the fruit. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix thoroughly. Let stand 5 minutes. Stir in fruit and bake in 8×8 pan sprayed with non-stick spray for 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees. You can serve hot or cold. It’s really good cold topped with vanilla yogurt.

One thought on “Baked Oatmeal

  1. Gotta try this! And OMG I love your blog. Definitely following!

Leave a Reply

