Book Banter: Premonitions

Title:  Premonitions19486429
Author: Jamie Schultz
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Length:  384 pages
Where Stacie’s Copy Came From: Oshkosh Public Library
Plot Basics:  $2 million dollars is enough money to make some serious bad-ass thieves sit up and take notice.  It’s the kind of score that will hook them up and get them out of trouble – even if they are splitting it four ways.  Common sense should prevail; a job that pays that well doesn’t come without strings.  They take it anyway and wait for the strings to appear.

Banter Points: Bethany suggested this book based on a friend’s twitter post.  The tagline on book 2 is “Like a cross between the TV show Leverage and Jim Butcher’s ‘Dresden Files’ books” by Library Journal.  I’m a fan of Leverage.  Harry is my book boyfriend.  Reading this series is inevitable.

I picked-up book one and dove in.  The first sentences were shocking, and ones that I’ve definitely heard come out of my own mouth, but they are harsh and full of swearing.  It was a startling way to capture the reader’s attention.

It also worked, because I wanted to know what the outrage was about, and the dynamics within the team that was pulling a job.

The reader is tossed into this odd world where Schultz doesn’t pull any punches.  The swearing isn’t the most shocking thing in the book; by the end, it was tame and completely in character for those that did it.  (And those that did not swear had a fascinating vocabulary that really pulled me into their own personal story.)

Karin Ames, the leader of the group, has a disorder that causes her to see the future.  Eventually it will drive her crazy.  In the mean time, pulling jobs like this one will keep her in blind, a street drug that numbs the effect of her disease.  She keeps the group safe by sorting through the myriad of possibilities and warning them in time.  Only, she needs the drug in ever larger doses.  And even that isn’t working anymore.

One of the best things about this book is the set-up of the characters.  The story line has “an enemy of my enemy is my friend” sort of thing going on.  I’m really interested in the back story of the antagonist, and how he became the antagonist.  And like all really successful bad guys, I’m not completely sure that I wouldn’t be cheering for him, if the story was from his point of view.  There’s something seriously flawed with him, but is he really bad?  (Of course he is, but man, I’d love to have a chance to read the reasons why he isn’t actually a bad guy.)

Bummer Points: Remember how I said Schultz doesn’t pull any punches?  He also is not afraid to murder characters who have served their purpose.  I won’t name any names, but more than one character that I was made to care about is killed shortly after their role is done.  That’s one way to tie up loose ends, but it does make me wonder if anyone survives the series.

Stacie’s Recommendation: I’m pretty excited that the Oshkosh Public Library was willing to purchase book two.  This series has potential and I’m sticking with it.

Leave a Reply

