May Reading Challenge Report Card

shakespeareMay’s Challenge was a Shakespeare Play.

Bethany: First, I read “William Shakespeare’s The Phantom of Menace.” While Stacie might have counted it, I went on and read an actual Shakespeare play and not a satirical one.

So, Richard II it was. I hadn’t ever read a Shakespeare history and had decided this challenge as part of the prep work to watch “The Hollow Crown.” I found a great edition (thanks Pelican Shakespeare!) at the Library that provided a wonderful contextual introduction. I knew nothing about the story and was totally hooked. I didn’t find the Shakespearean language the barrier but the history and the players. With the intro, I would have been lost and instead, knew what to read for. I’ve got Henry IV.1 and Henry IV.2 checked out from the Library and look forward to reading them too.

Stacie: I picked the Tempest for the May reading challenge. I had read it before, in college some odd years ago. I like the play strictly for the entertainment value. It has pretty much everything you need in a story: a shipwreck, revenge, fighting, magic, improbable new love, and sprites. My copy came from my personal collection and was filled with notes I made while reading it in back in the day. It was as much fun to read the notes as it was the play.

It also made me realize that I really should read stuff like this more often. I found that my current self strongly disagreed with my college self on some points. It brought home some of the changes in opinion I’ve experienced in my life, and altered the play’s tone and meaning for me.

I’m not as big of a fan of Prospero as I once was.

Onward to June’s challenge: a book that has been adapted into a movie or a TV show. Yes, that means you can read Game of Thrones. 

Leave a Reply

