Book Banter: Coffee Gives Me Superpowers

coffee superTitle: Coffee Gives Me Superpowers
Author: Ryoko Iwata
Genre: Non-fiction
Length: 96 pages
Where Stacie’s Copy Came From:  Stacie’s Personal Collection
Plot Basics: Coffee is a staple of the modern human diet. What do you really know about coffee? Can it really give you superpowers? After reading this book, you’ll know more about coffee consumption around the globe, why bees love coffee and how coffee gives you superpowers.

Banter Points: I’m a big fan of coffee, and the idea that it gives me superpowers was fantastic. I loved that I could have more superpowers by drinking coffee.

I was really excited about fun facts and illustrations.  It really cannot be underscored as to how the author’s talent is in combining the facts and drawings.  One of sources for the book was Wikipedia, and the author and illustrator really made the facts come alive through the drawings.  You can get a sneak peek here at I Love Coffee and determine when you should drink coffee for the maximum impact of the caffeine.

One cool section was about how important coffee is global to the economy. For example, the most expensive coffee costs $50 per two cups (trust me, this is one that I do not want to try, and not due to cost.) The world consumption is around 1.6 billion cups per day, while the U.S. drinker consumes 3.1 cups daily.

I loved the links between coffee and personality as well. I snickered at some of the personality descriptions and felt some hit way too close to home.  I’m definitely a caffeine junkie.

Bummer Points: Expect some coffee jokes around the house as well as some questions as to what kind of superpower you gained. Nothing that a true coffee drinker can’t handle.

Stacie’s Recommendation: I expected a cute coffee table book, and was pleasantly surprised with this title.  It’s going on my gift-giving list this year, especially as I have several coffee-lovers on my recipient list.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

