Book Banter: Hexed by Kevin Hearne

9595650Title: Hexed
Author: Kevin Hearne
Genre: Urban fantasy
Length: 309 pages
Where Stacie’s Copy Came From:  Oshkosh Public Library
Plot Basics: The Coven wants a non-aggression treaty with Atticus. Others want him to kill Thor. It’s another day in the life of the Druid.

Banter Points: I was pretty excited to see that Hearne addressed some of the issues I called out in my book banter for Hounded, specifically Atticus’ ability to blend into modern times and the number of magical people that he knows. The blending in was addressed in a clever way, I thought, by specifically pointing to one of his vampire acquaintances who doesn’t blend in at all, to the point where humans Atticus knows (but the reader does not) know that something is wrong with the guy, but not exactly what. I was chuckling at the formal, slightly archaic language, and proper sentence structure that was really a poke at grammar nerds.

The magical community was explained too, and by the witch coven this time. Their method of earning their living, the need for a well-populated city, and their own contributions are explained in a way that adds new details to the world building as well as contributes to the plot.

Bummer Points: Atticus is a little too much of a Puck for me to be comfortable with him as a protagonist. There was growth in this book, but I don’t know that I am going to develop any strong feelings for this character that keep me craving more. Maybe, but it’s unlikely right now.

Stacie’s Recommendation: I am going to hit up book three. There’s enough here to keep me interested, but developing a book crush isn’t going to happen.

Leave a Reply

