Reading in the Car

It’s a blessing, really, for a Word Nerd, not to get motion sick in the car. I’ve never had a problem with reading in the car and lately, I’ve rediscovered how great this is.

When I was a kid, I did this regularly. My mom reminds me of when I was 9 or so and she I were taking a vacation. I’d just gotten a Walk-man for my birthday and I spent the drive to Hershey Pennsylvania with my headphones on and my nose in a book. After that trip, we started a new tradition of me reading aloud to us in the car (that 1991 Corolla she had didn’t have a tape player…) I remember taking school trips too and reading on the bus (first time I read Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy was on such a trip.)

And then I learned to drive and well, one can’t read in the car and drive at the same time.

In the past few years, I’ve discovered books on tape (WHAT took me so long there, I’m not sure). My commute may only be about 12 minutes long, but I can get through at least one book on CD a month, which means at least 12 more titles read each year.

But, suddenly, presented with a road trip this past weekend, I realized I could read in the car again. Because I could share the driving.

As we barreled along I-70 in central Ohio, he drove and I read. Not for the whole trip, mind you, but sections of it.

The question in, when’s the next road trip?

Leave a Reply

