New Year’s Resolutions

I like the first of the year because it feels like a good time to make changes and have a fresh start.2011-year-resolution-400x400

In 2015, I’ve accepted the Word Nerds’ Reading Challenge (I really need to get that Russian master started or I’m never going to finish it.)  I’ve also been thinking more about my personal life lately, and what I want in the years to come.  Books are such lovely things, but I too had a chance to really appreciate my friends and family over the 2014 Holiday season.

I’ve always been satisfied with a handful of friends, rather than feeling the need to have many friends.  But along the way, I realized I was thinking somewhat selfishly, and taking what I needed from the relationships, rather than offering what I had to give.

Professionally, I’m pretty good at offering to help others (often, to the detriment of my own goals.)

In 2015, I’m making a serious effort to be there more for the people that need me.  To have the meaningful conversations that need to be had.  To show them that I care through my actions and words.

To stick my nose in a book less.

I’m not entirely sure what that means for my 2015 reading goal yet.  Usually, I’ve got last years numbers wrapped up and reading to post, and the new reading goal set.  This year?  I’m not sure where the final tally hits.  I know it’s a reasonable distance over 100; I’m not excited about it this year.  It has a been there, done that feeling.  Maybe the right goal is seriously less than 100.  Maybe it’s no more than 1 book a week.

Whatever the reading goal is, I know what the people goal is:  Spend quality time with the people I call Family.

 

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Bethany K. Warner says:

    If you an easy to master Russian Master, do “A Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovitch” by Soltzenitsyn. I REALLY liked it and read 1/2 of it in an afternoon (about 120-150 pages total!)

Leave a Reply

