People, not pages

Over the holidays, I finished one book.

Yep, just one.

I had a stack of books I wanted to read. But people won out and that’s better.

Despite how much INTJs like Stacie and I don’t always get people, we still need them.

I got to host Christmas at my house. A 9.4 lb ham was a bit much for three of us, but it was a great time around the table. We (that would be Mom, the boyfriend and me) spent time at the table playing games too.

New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day and January 2 (does that day have a name?) were spent with three different sets of friends, with more games, good food and playing with cars (the real ones at an auto show and the toy kind with a precocious almost three-year-old). The final weekend of the holiday time included more time with the boyfriend and reconnecting to friends at church.

So, while I look at my Books I’ve Read list and I have nothing marked down for 2015 and it’s January 5 (yes, I’m writing ahead), I realized I’m OK with that. I set my reading goal for 2015 at 90 books and if my slow start means I miss that, it’s not a big deal.

I like words on the page. But playing a best-of-five series of games of Quiddler (maybe the best word game ever) with Mom is better than any best-seller.

The holidays for me were better because of people. not pages.

Leave a Reply

