Book Banter: The Rook

TheRook-coverTitle: The Rook

Author: Daniel O’Malley

Genre: fiction

Length: 482 pages

Where Bethany’s Copy Came From: The Indianapolis Public Library

Plot Basics: Myfanwy Thomas is a bureaucrat in a top-secret, supernaturally-laden government agency, only she doesn’t remember anything about it — or herself — after she’s suddenly in the rain surrounded by dead men. She can’t walk away from her past, even though she can’t recall it, and finds herself unraveling treason and conspiracies even as she tries to figure out her own personality. As the book cover says, it’s part “Bourne Identity” meets “X-Men.”

Banter Points: A librarian friend recommended this one to me multiple times and I finally got to it on my TBR list. I will say now that I wish I’d listened to her sooner. This is ANOTHER top ten book contender for this year; ok, who am I kidding, it will be in the top 10 list.

This book is surprisingly comic, even as it really is about a bureaucrat. Myfanwy is has a great voice as a character and the past and present intertwine in fun ways to build the plot.

Myfanwy has a huge supporting cast of characters, and, one of the things that I thought was interesting was that O’Malley chose her as the main character. There are plenty of others who other writers might have made the featured character (which of course would have changed the whole book) but she is likely the most readable character. I’m excited that this is the first book in a series too.

Bummer Points: There is a lot of exposition in this book. It makes sense, but there are occasionally sections where it gets a bit much.

Word Nerd Recommendation: This is a new “pusher” book for me. I’ve got one friend reading it and I’m trying to interest others as well.

One thought on “Book Banter: The Rook

  1. […] Points: The Rook was one of the my 2014 favorites with its fantastic blend of X-Files, X-Men and Mansfield Park […]

Leave a Reply

