TBR Calculations

The TBR — aka, the To Be Read list — is the bane of any reader.  There’s always more pages, more books, more authors, to read.  The count grows and grows, and, if I’m lucky, some months I will end the month with fewer books on it than at the beginning of the month.  Other than counting, there wasn’t much I could do with my TBR data.

Until now.

Personal Creations took some of the most popular books and estimated how long it would take someone to read the book, based on the average reading speed of 300 words per minute.  The metric seemed fair to me.  I know I read between 60-100 pages per hour, depending the book content.  Typically, there are 250 words per page.  It seems realistic to me that on average, people would read about 300 words per minute.

(Actually, I’m much more interested in how they got their word counts.  That’s the ultimate reading metric for me.)

Here’s some of the possibilities:

  • The Giver: 2.42 hours
  • The Great Gatsby: 2.62 hours
  • To Kill a Mockingbird: 5.51 hours
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife: 8.65 hours
  • Perhaps Bethany can comment on the accuracy since she just finished To Kill a Mockingbird.

Two popular series made the list as well.  One I’ve read.  One’s on the TBR:

  • Harry Potter: 60.23 hours
  • A Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones): 98.33 hours

I know I’ve read the Potter series multiple times.  Realizing how much time I would devote to A Song of Ice and Fire is a bit intimidating.  But it definitely makes the $20 I spent on the series worth it.

Check out the full list here:

Personal Creations

How Long Does It Take to Read

Leave a Reply

