Guest Blog: Living Las Vegas

The Word Nerds turned the blog over today to Deborah Coonts, the author of WANNA GET LUCKY? (A NY Times Notable Crime Novel for 2010 and double RITATM Finalist), LUCKY STIFF, SO DAMN LUCKY (a national bestseller), LUCKY BASTARD and four digital novellas, LUCKY IN LOVE, LUCKY BANG and LUCKY NOW AND THEN, Parts One and Two. The fifth novel in the series, LUCKY CATCH, is coming in July. She can usually be found at the bar, but also at http://www.deborahcoonts.com.

Coonts-airplane2When most folks are looking for a nice place to live and finish raising their children, Vegas doesn’t spring immediately to mind. I don’t know why Perhaps it’s all the…naughtiness.

And, to be honest, when we moved their it was a leap of faith. If it hadn’t been for my son’s passion for golf and Vegas being a teaching and playing mecca, it wouldn’t have hit our radar either.

But, when I let my then fifteen-year-old son choose where we were going to live, I should’ve known I was asking for it. Vegas or bust.

I thought at best we’d be there for a couple of years until my son graduated high school and then we’d both be off to other adventures back in the real world. Ha! Best laid plans.

We were there for fourteen.

And Vegas was good to us. My son found his life—his beautiful wife. And I found my story.

Before I hit Vegas, I was struggling with my identity as a writer. I thought I wanted to write romantic suspense and be Sandra Brown. Turns out all I really wanted was her wardrobe, not to mention I pretty much sucked at romantic suspense. I just don’t do dark. Good thing I lived in Vegas.

Frustrated and a bit disillusioned, one day not long after unpacking, I sat down at the computer and tossed a young woman out of a tour helicopter. She landed in the middle of the 8:30 pirate show at the Treasure Island Hotel, making a big splash. From there I was off and running.

You see, I’d fallen in love with the total silliness that is Las Vegas. Oh, it has its seedy underbelly like everywhere. But, outside of Disneyland can you think of a destination that is more about fun than Las Vegas? And oh the mischief people get into! I’m not talking about the life-altering kind, just the funny kind. And, in Sin City, they do it up in spades.

A word to the wise, though. You know that whole “What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas” thing? Not so much. All the shenanigans are wonderful grist for the story mill. The names have been changed to protect the guilty, of course There’s romance. There’s murder, Vegas-style. Some laugh-out-loud moments. If you’re looking for that perfect get-away-from-it-all end of summer read, I hope you check Lucky out…. Well, don’t check her out, she’s not that fond of being leered at. Check the stories out, though And let me know what you think.

Truly, sometimes setting is just a backdrop for the story. But, in my Lucky O’Toole books, Las Vegas became a character—not a tawdry one, but a bright shiny, silly one.

Do you like stories with a strong setting or would you rather the setting just be background?

Tagged

8 thoughts on “Guest Blog: Living Las Vegas

  1. Thanks for hosting me today! I’ll check back by, so if anyone has a question of comment, fire away!

  2. Will Graham says:

    OH, yes! Nice to see you here, Deb! 🙂

  3. Cher Simmons says:

    Hi Deborah, I love Lucky. She totally kicks butt!!! I just finished Lucky Catch, can’t wait for those babies to be born. I decided to start rereading the whole series again just to get my Lucky Fix.

  4. siobhanmuir says:

    I had the same idea as you, Deb, when I hit Vegas. I said I’d give it a year. We stayed seven. Great post. And yeah, loved all Lucky’s stories. 🙂

  5. Wow, Deb…its so great to see you enjoying Vegas and finding your niche in writing there. Love the pic of you by the airplane. Do James you really fly?

Leave a Reply

