Book Banter: I’ve Got your Number by Sophie Kinsella

Title: I’ve Got Your NumberI've-Got-Your-Number Author: Sophie Kinsella
Genre: Chick-Lit
Length: 433 pages
Where Stacie’s Copy Came From:  Oshkosh Public Library
Plot Basics: Poppy Wyatt is about to have the craziest experience of her life. It starts with a frantic search for her engagement ring, a phone nipped from a bin, and an impromptu impersonation of a singing telegram.  It ends with well, something entirely different and much better for Poppy.  Through a shared inbox, she gets to know Sam Roxton, the business consultant to whom the phone belongs.  Through a crazy set of circumstances, Poppy become Sam’s acting personal assistant.

Banter Points: This was just the sort of book I needed, and didn’t realize. I’m a fan of Sophie Kinsella’s work and have been for quite a while, but not enough of a fan to stalk track when new titles are coming up.  I was pleasantly surprised to find this as an audio book when I was looking for the next title to feed my player.

While I was really looking for whatever sounded okay, this fun romp through Poppy’s life was perfect.  Poppy is the sort of girl that drives me nuts (honestly, how exactly do you misplace a family heirloom ring?) yet, I found myself cheering for and laughing with her.  And then I sort of wish she really was someone I knew.  Her insight into people is brilliant.  Her devotion is fantastic.  Watching her watching Sam’s personal and professional correspondence made me wonder what someone would think of my various inboxes.

Bummer Points: Poppy makes so many classic “girl” mistakes. I don’t know what else to call them. She just blunders through some things that make me want to shake her. Like when she is put through a disciplinary hearing at her work. It’s the sort of thing that could really go badly, impact her for ages, but Poppy just breezes through it. Red flags galore! I mean, her boss even says “Is it okay if I put down that you had prep time?” Poppy should have said no, yet, she goes right along with the suggestion. Fortunately, it’s the kind of thing that just simply works out in fictional worlds.

Stacie’s Recommendation: It’s such a fun romp that must try it. You really must.

Leave a Reply

