Book Banter: Midwinterblood

midwinterbloodTitle: Midwinterblood

Author: Marcus Sedgewick

Genre: YA

Length: ~250 pages

Where Bethany’s Copy Came From: The Indianapolis Public Library (ebook)

Plot Basics: Seven vignettes set on a mysterious Scandinavian island, linked across time and lifespans.

Banter Points: I’d read Marcus Sedgewick in the past and liked his work a lot. In the relentless tide of books, I forgot about him until I saw the news that “Midwinterblood” won the Printz this spring.

Midwinterblood is the kind of story that stays with you after you are done reading. I’ve moved on to the next book, but I’m finding that the story still floating around my head is this one.

Of the seven stories, there was one that really clicked with me because of the way the characters moved through it and interpreted the world. I don’t want to say much and spoil the way this book reads. It’s definitely going to be another “pusher” book for me, especially with certain reader friends, starting with Stacie.

Bummer Points: I didn’t really know how this book was put together when I started it and it felt disjointed for the first couple sections until I got what was going on.

Word Nerd Recommendation: Devour this book. Find the section that you resonate with the most. There will be one and it’s likely different for different readers.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

