Summer Favorites

After a gorgeous Memorial Day weekend, summer is officially here.  The hot, muggy weather arrived and it’s time to break out the iced coffee.

As much as I love Starbucks, it isn’t practical to run out for an iced coffee whenever the mood strikes.  Instead, I make my own.  It’s both easier and messier than you’d expect.  I do think that the messier part is mostly due to the equipment I have and my inability to pour from a large pitcher.  Thanks to Pioneer Woman, I have a grand recipe too:

Iced Coffee by Pioneer Woman (picture courtesy of her too.)icedcoffee

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pound ground coffee (dark roast is my personal favorite, but experiment to find yours)
  • 1 gallon water

Equipment:

  • Large container (enough for a gallon of water and room to stir)
  • Strainer
  • Cheese Cloth
  • Pitcher

Steps:

  • Measure 1/2 pound of coffee into the large container.
  • Add 1 gallon of water
  • Stir.
  • Store for 8 or more hours.
  • When ready, line the strainer with the cheese cloth and pour the coffee through into the pitcher.  (This is the part where I make a huge mess and get coffee grounds everywhere.  Best of luck to you.)

I’m fond of adding Splenda, sugar free syrup, half and half.  Again, experiment to find your favorite.

Leave a link to your favorite summer drink in the comments.  I’d love to see what’s always around your house.

Leave a Reply

