April Reading Spikes!

albert einstein

Stacie here.

Normally, I keep  my reading stats to a quarterly update.  There’s a few reasons for this.

One, I read a lot, but not nearly as much as I want.  I feel bad about that.

Two, I read more than a lot of people.  I feel like a freak at times.

Three, I think I read to much.

Four, there’s good ol’ Albert, confirming my worst fears.

But! When you have month like I did in April, I feel like boasting:

keep-calm-it-s-only-14-books

After all fourteen books in a 30 day month is just over 2 days per book.  And not a single review either.  Here’s why:

  • Dark Tort by Diane Mott Davidson:  A re-read.  I needed an audio book, like Goldy the caterer.  This worked.  I’ll probably jump back into this series at some point.
  • The Reversal by Michael Connelly:  I’m loving these, but it made me want to go back to the first Bosch book.
  • Guardians of the Stone by Anita Clenney:  I was taught to be polite.  This book wasn’t for me.
  • The Black Echo by Michael Connelly:  Hey, there’s the first Bosch book.
  • The Black Ice by Michael Connelly:  And look!  Here’s the second one.
  • Dead Beat by Jim Butcher:  Seriously, if you don’t know how I feel about Harry, well, read my thoughts about him (and a few other fictional characters) in my Valentine’s Day post
  • Proven Guilty by Jim Butcher
  • White Night by Jim Butcher
  • Small Favor by Jim Butcher
  • Turn Coat by Jim Butcher
  • Changes by Jim Butcher
  • The Haunting of Maddy Clare by Simone St. James:  It was an okay ghost story and compelling at the end.
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins:  TBD.  I’m finishing the series first.
  • Allegiant by Veronica Roth:  Bethany beat me to this series and suggested that I check it out.  I finished it late on 4/30 (sneaking under the dead line!).  As I finished the last 50 pages, my husband kept trying to talk to me.  I kept looking up groggily, ripped from the pages of the story.  At the last 25 page mark, he tried for the last time.  It went something like this:
    • Hubby: “Hey, Stacie, did you see–wait, are you crying?”
    • Stacie:  “Leave me alone.”
    • Hubby:  “Why, are you hurt or is it your book?”
    • Stacie:  “Yes.”
    • Hubby:  “Is it really that sad?”
    • Stacie:  “Yes.”
    • Hubby:  “I’m sorry, I didn’t know. Carry on.”

And it was.  Reading the last of it was moving.  I’m still processing everything that happened.

 

Leave a Reply

