Reading Hiatus

Over Easter weekend, I read nothing.hiatus

Well, almost nothing. I read a whopping total of 21 pages in a novel. For the most part, I also wasn’t on Facebook or Twitter, wasn’t reading the news. I didn’t even have my audiobook on in the car. Nothing.

It was rather glorious.

There was a side of me that wondered if  in saying that, I be required to hang up my Word Nerd credentials.

I’d been on quite the reading binge up through last Thursday night. I’d plowed through both Play Dead and Stay Dead by Anne Frasier, the new Dresden Files “Ghoul Goblin” graphic novel and then read the last 150 pages of Chris Pavone’s “The Expats” on Thursday evening before Easter weekend company came because I knew I wouldn’t read much with a house guest present.

But the reality is, that little break probably makes me more excited to get back into the next book.

There is a bit of truth in the expression “absence makes the heart grow fonder.”

My weekend wasn’t wordless. My mom and I played three games of “Quiddler,” which is a word-building card game. (She beat me 2-1 in the series, if you wondered.)

But, after three days without books, though, I was ready to dive back in and couldn’t wait for my lunch hour. Lunchtime is my prime reading time most days.

I’m tackling a book that’s outside of my normal milieu and my excitement for reading is going to help carry me through it. (If I’d known, I would have picked up a Russian master…)

As much as I love books, I think being strategic about some weekends (or days) away from reading could be a good practice. My summer vacation (minus the time on the airplane) might be a good time to try this again.

Anyone else do this intentionally?

Tagged

Leave a Reply

