Valentine’s Day for Book Lovers

book heartLast week, I gave you some tips for Valentine’s Day, introvert style.  This week, a list of my favorite fictional romances.  I really aspire to be in a relationship like one of these.  If I can’t, then I want to share them as far and wide as I can.

  • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.  My sister recently read this and when finished, confessed that she didn’t do anything for five days until she was done with the book.  Jamie and Claire have that sort of power over readers.  They make you forget about laundry, food, and other people at your house.  It tops 700 pages and is a serious commitment to read.  When she texted me to let me know I HAD to read this book, I was thrilled that she loved it as much as I did.  And then I realized I wanted to read it again.
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.  Since my sister’s family was in danger of starving (and going naked) I recommended that she read this one as it is a fraction of the pages.  It’s a perennial favorite of mine.  Every time I read it, I realize I missed something and am delighted once again with the story arc and complications that face time travelers.
  • Insert Title of Trilogy Here by Nora Roberts.  What is it about trilogies by Nora Roberts that makes my heart go pitter-pat?  It’s basically the same story I read during the last trilogy yet, I cannot put it down.  I prefer to read with wine and chocolate close by and maybe a bubble bath.

Characters that can’t be good for me:  It’s not so much that these guys have fabulous relationships or romance abounds.  Yet, I cannot get enough of these guys.Bookworm romance

  • Harry Dresden of the Dresden Files.  He blows stuff up.  He makes huge mistakes.  And he saves the world.  What’s not to love?
  • Jack-none-Reacher.  Another man that spends time kicking ass and leaving bodies behind him.  I’m good with this guy too.  He probably would terrify me if he actually materialized and definitely would break my heart.  Yet, I can’t get enough of him.  These are going to end up on the re-read list, I’m sure of it.
  • Jericho of the Dark Fever Series.  If there ever was a bad boy that I wanted to tame, it’s Jericho.  He lives behind a book store, has awesome cars, and wicked in a fight against supernatural anything.

This Valentine’s Day, give your special someone a book that will satisfies those reading urges and curl up with them AND the book.

One thought on “Valentine’s Day for Book Lovers

  1. […] I feel about Harry, well, read my thoughts about him (and a few other fictional characters) in my Valentine’s Day […]

Leave a Reply

