Resolution Free Zone

This Word Nerd has declared a resolution-free zone for 2014.

The pressure of goals seemed overwhelming this year, not the they varying from year to year:

  • Eat right
  • Exercise enough to burn more calories than consumed
  • Read books
  • Enjoy family time
  • Find Joy

That last one isn’t so much a resolution as a motto.

Find joy.

Too often we miss out on the things that we are doing because we are thinking about things we should be (or could be) doing.

Or is that just me?

I decided sometime last year that I needed to enjoy the moment instead of stressing about every detail. I still have plotting and planning time, don’t fear for those! I have specific times for them and when I’m engaged in that, that’s all that I do. I decided to live in the moment.

Be here now.

That was last year’s goal. This year’s? Find joy.

I’ll still sweat the small things, and set mid to short term objectives. But they aren’t resolutions. That’s what I’m doing at the time I should be doing it.

Instead if thinking about the gazillions of other things I could be doing.

What about you? Do you have resolutions?

Leave a Reply

