Best of 2013 — Top Ten Books

It’s that time again, for the Word Nerds to reveal our picks of the Top Ten books we each read this year.

Once more, for review, our top ten lists are pulled from the books we read this year, not books published this year.

And the envelope please…

Bethany’s Picks

10. Dracula, Bram Stoker
9. London Falling, Paul Cornell
8. Dune Messiah, Frank Herbert (the audiobook version)
7. Wise Young Fool, Sean Beaudoin
6. Bel Canto, Ann Patchett
5. A Long Way Down. Nick Hornby
4. World War Z, Max Brooks
3. Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman
2. Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, Annie Dillard
1. Till We Have Faces, C.S. Lewis

This is the first year an audiobook has made my top 10 list and I’m not sure if I’d read “Dune Messiah” if I would have loved it as much. The audio was so good with a great cast of readers.

I loved “Till We Have Faces” and plan on re-reading it soon. I was blown away by that book and then having it for discussion in book club made me love it all the more as my wonderful friends brought out even more from the title. If you are a C.S. Lewis fan, do yourself a favor and hunt up a copy of that one.

Stacie’s Picks

10.  The Trinity Game, Sean Chercover
9.  Guilt by Association, Marcia Clark
8.  Etiquette & Espionage, Gail Carriger
7.  American Gods, Neil Gaiman
6. Dare Me, Megan Abbott
5.  Skinned, Robin Wasserman
4.  Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore, Robin Sloan
3.  Stink and the Midnight Zombie Walk, Megan McDonald
2.  Killing Floor, Lee Child
1.  Lean In:  Women, Work, and the Will to Lead, Sheryl Sandberg

I really struggled with my first place pick (actually, the whole rank and order thing has me quaking.  I take several passes each year and still wonder if I got it right.)  I really liked this book and found myself recommending it over and over again to people.  I love following the site on Facebook and have seriously considered starting a Lean-In Circle for women that I know locally.  I figured that made it stand out for 1st place.  The rest of those titles?  You could throw them around a bit more.  All of them left me thinking and evaluating life, which is the best kind of book.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

