Best of 2013 — Discovered Author

The Word Nerds Best of 2013 posts roll on, today with the annual “Best Discovered Author” category. This is, again, not for debuts or things in 2013, but for the author we were most pleasantly surprised to discover for the first time in the past year.

Stacie

The Witch's DaughterCovers are one of the best things about books.  They hold promises and entice readers into the story.  It was the cover that first pulled me into this story.  It was as wonderful within the pages as the cover suggested it would be.  This was a delightful telling of one witch’s story and how she lived, survived and hid in the world.

It was a delightful story and one that has stayed with me through 2013.  It is also one that I can see reading again, which is the best kind of story.

I’m looking forward to the next Paula Brackston novel:  The Winter Witch.

Bethany

associationI read a number of books in 2013 by authors whom I already knew and my discovery didn’t happen until late in the year. I was asked to interview the author during Murder and Mayhem in Muskego. Over my lunch hour, I zipped down to the library to check out her first two books to prep.

Yep, my 2013 Best Discovered Author is Marcia Clark.

Her legal thrillers have a fun mix of snarky, tough characters and page-turning plots. I read all three in a matter of months and I’m eagerly waiting for it to be July so I can read the next one.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

