Quiz #1: The Ego Trip

You may wonder: why is this quiz #1 when there have been 3 previous General Grammar posts? The reason (in a GENERAL GRAMMAR iconsomewhat George Lucas/Peter Jackson-esque fashion) is that what has appeared to be General Grammar Episodes 1-3 are actually Episodes 4-6. Due to the time demands of holiday travel which have made it difficult to write a completely new lesson, you are now being introduced to GG’s original launch, which occurred on 9/13/13 in a non-blogosphere context. My apologies to the small number of readers who may possibly experience déjà vu with today’s quiz!

General Grammar Quiz #1: The Ego Trip: me, myself, and I

#1 The Apostle Paul said to his brothers in the faith before departing:
A) “Please pray for Barnabas and I to have safe travels.”
B) “Please pray for Barnabas and myself to have safe travels.”
C) “Please pray for Barnabas and me to have safe travels.”
D) “Please pray for myself and Barnabas to have safe travels.”

#2 The Apostle Paul continued with his words of farewell:
A) “Barnabas and me will be praying for you as well.”
B) “Barnabas and myself will be praying for you as well.”
C) “Barnabas and I will be praying for you as well.”
D) “Me and Barnabas will be praying for you as well.”

#3 The Apostle Paul concluded:
A) “On behalf of the believers in Antioch, the Board of Trustees (OK – they probably didn’t have one of those in Bible times), Barnabas, and myself, please…
B) “On behalf of the believers in Antioch, the Board of Trustees, Barnabas, and I, please…
C) “On behalf of the believers in Antioch, the Board of Trustees, Barnabas, and me, please…
D) “On behalf of myself, Barnabas, the Board of Trustees, and the believers in Antioch, please…

Suggestion #1: In general, General Grammar recommends avoidance of the word “myself.” There are limited contexts in which it is appropriate.  Here is one: “Look Mom! I did it all by myself!”
Suggestion #2: A good way to decide between me or I is to try the sentence without the other person (i.e., Barnabas). Whichever word works in solo is the correct choice. Hence, the correct answer to #1 and #2 is “c” as evidenced by the following:
#1 “Please pray for me to have safe travels.” (definitely not “I”)
#2 “I will be praying for you as well.” (definitely not “me”)
The correct answer to #3 is also “c.” Why? See suggestion #1. 🙂
Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Quiz #1: The Ego Trip

  1. […] If you are confused about why GG’s s fifth post is numbered Quiz #2, see this post! […]

  2. […] as you would in that case. (If you’re having a déjà vu moment, good for you! See Dec. 4 – “The Ego Trip” – suggestion […]

Leave a Reply

