Mini Review: Reacher # 7-9

Reading a series is thrilling.  While I love the story side, the author’s craft becomes more apparent and I can see how they draw a reader through subtle changes.  As such, I decided to write a series of mini reviews that focus more on my impression of the story, rather than a full review.  If you’d like to get caught up on my mini-reviews, here’s Part 1 and Part 2.

#7 – Persuader:  Back to first person for this Reacher installment.  I’m not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing.  I like seeing other people’s explanations and reactions.  But I do like the immediacy of Reacher’s thoughts too.  The situation in the book is different too.  Rather than trouble finding Reacher, Reacher finds trouble that he thought was resolved and isn’t.  Being the sort that doesn’t walk away from a difficult situation, he is compelled to complete a mission that should have been completed a decade ago.  Having the first person point of view helps keep the focus on what Reacher sees in the story and doesn’t allow the distractions of what others might see.  Along the way, Reacher reflectively claims that he made mistakes, but the first person point of view doesn’t necessarily allow for other options to be seen.  They might be there, but darned if I know what they were.

#8 – The Enemy:  As the 8th entry in a series, introducing something new should be a little challenging, but Child manages to keep the story line fresh by adding a prequel to the series.  It’s 1990, Reacher is an MP in an army that is about to under go some massive changes.  Once again, this title is in first person point of view, and I still like it.  Especially since the younger Reacher doesn’t have all of the hard edges that I’ve seen in the series so far.  His investigative skills and the relationship with Garber are nicely done here as well.  It’s obvious that Reacher has known himself well for quite a while; any new information is added to that picture and conforms, rather than adapts, to his world view.  This might be my favorite Reacher book of all.

For the writers and those impressed by awards, this is the title that starts the Reacher award and the book that is the recipent of said award.

#9 – One Shot:  I broke a cardinal rule of mine with this book:  I saw the movie, then read the book.  I never, ever, ever, do that.  And I have to admit, I didn’t care.  The movie was something that I saw because the hubby wanted to see it.  I heard from a variety of people that it was really good and I’d regret not seeing it.  And, in all honesty, I’m a blow things up kind of girl.  I’m glad I saw it, but I don’t really remember it.  The book was sufficiently different and better (just like books should be).  More impossible situations.  More crazy stuff that only Reacher can solve.  I loved it.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Mini Review: Reacher # 7-9

  1. […] If you’d like to get caught up on my mini-reviews, here’s Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3. […]

  2. […] three.  And, if you’d like to get caught up on my mini-reviews, here’s Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, and Part […]

  3. […] you’d like to get caught up on my mini-reviews, here’s Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, and Part […]

Leave a Reply

