Book Stats: Q3

The year is 75% done and I’m 79% through my reading goal of 100 books this year, last achieved in 2009.

I’ll be honest, I try for this every year and really think I can do it.  Then something happens, like life, and I don’t make it.  This year is different for a couple of reasons – mainly school and commute based reasons.  I’m pretty confident that I can do it.

Part of my success is strictly due to the Reacher novels and the Mercy Thompson series.  Each is great and I’m devouring the backlists to get caught up.  That is a massive contributor to my ability to complete this goal.  No thinking about “What’s next?” or spending time wondering if there’s something better in the TBR.  Which, honestly, if you think about it, what’s next shouldn’t be hard with the massive TBR that I have.  What’s up with that?  I obviously have issues.

I’m at 28,590 pages for the year and a mere 23,981 pages away from 500,000 lifetime pages.  I must admit, it’s pretty exciting to be that close and makes me wish that I had spend time tracking when I really was a reader!  In fact, during a recent brag session on Facebook, a high school buddy asked me if I was sick or something; compared to the reading I used to do, I was massively behind.

It’s also encouraging to know that I can “see” myself passing 1,000,000 pages in the next 10-15 years.  It would be grand if I could pass 5,000 titles before 65.  Hmmm…I may need to think about that as a goal.

What have you been reading?

 
Leave a Reply

