Mini Review: Reacher #1, 5-6

One of the great things about reading so many of these in fast sequence is that the work behind the story becomes obvious quickly.  Reacher has a formula and it works.  It’s part of the experience to know what is coming, and get caught up in the action anyway.  It’s fun to see what the trouble looks like this time around and to speculate if Reacher is going to make any changes.

If you’d like to get caught up on my mini-reviews, here’s Part 1.

#1 – The Killing Floor: Woot!  The Library came through!  Wait a minute – this is in first person!  Thankfully, the Lee Child’s FAQ addresses the issue.  Of course, I cannot tell, but so many of Reacher’s quirks make sense after reading this title.  I wonder if that would have happened if I had read it in order.  I liked this title a lot and it has all of the “classic” Reacher characteristics.

#5 – Echo Burning:  Here’s the thing about Reacher novels:  Reacher always manages to find a woman in distress.  He never takes the situation at face value and instead determines whether or not he should or should not help her.  Got it.  But this novel has two beautiful women – neither should be available to him.  One of them is, but Reacher isn’t necessarily willing to cross those lines.  I liked seeing that happen in this book.  Running into a blockade, however lightly, keeps the novel real.  I also liked seeing how Reacher runs into situations that should go down Path A, only to have Path B pop up.  His sense of right and wrong is well developed and the setting helps to show that as well.  It provided some of the “Why?” behind what Reacher does.  As a reader, I really like to see his character developed over the course of these books.

#6 – Without Fail:  This is probably the most likely and realistic scenario I’ve seen Reacher in so far.  And honestly, I needed some credibility at this point.  It reminds of the movie “Shooter” which is a favorite of mine.  It seems plausible to me that the Secret Service wouldn’t tell the Vice President about threats; it’s their job to worry, not his.  It seems plausible to me that they would hire an audit of their defenses; after all, there’s not much margin for error in that line of work.  It seems plausible to me that Reacher would know how to get around those defenses.  He used to be an MP that looked for guys that got through defenses.  It all makes sense.

Reacher is fast becoming one of my favorite fictional characters.  If I ever see a six foot, 5 inch tall blond man weighing about 250 pounds of pure muscle, I’m going to make sure that I’m in the line of fire for whatever happens next.

4 thoughts on “Mini Review: Reacher #1, 5-6

  1. […] Reading a series is thrilling.  While I love the story side, the author’s craft becomes more apparent and I can see how they draw a reader through subtle changes.  As such, I decided to write a series of mini reviews that focus more on my impression of the story, rather than a full review.  If you’d like to get caught up on my mini-reviews, here’s Part 1 and Part 2. […]

  2. […] you’d like to get caught up on my mini-reviews, here’s Part 1, Part 2 and Part […]

  3. […] next three.  And, if you’d like to get caught up on my mini-reviews, here’s Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, and Part […]

  4. […] you’d like to get caught up on my mini-reviews, here’s Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, and Part […]

Leave a Reply

