Eight-up and Goal

I set a low reading goal for this year of only 75 books. Last year, my 90-book goal stressed me out. Of course, lots of things last year were stressful and that was just adding on. So, I dropped it for this year, to make sure I continued to enjoy reading and not worry about the number. goals

Yes, I know the average American reader reads something like 12 books or less and so my goal is still a lot. At the end of August, I was sitting at 71 finished books. This averages out to 8 a month and with four months left in the year, that comes out a potential 35 more which would be 106 total for the year.

Reading 100 books in a year has been an elusive, albeit never written down goal since I started tracking books back in 2002. (WOW, I just realized I’ve been doing that for more than a decade. CRA-ZY!) This year, by actually relaxing on the goal, it’s looking fairly probable. Might the total include another graphic novel or two to help get there? Yes. But it will still be 100 books.

Also — a few months, I introduced the Eight-Up list to manage my TBR pile.

Truth, the TBR pile is still largely out of control and for the end of August and start of this month, I’ve mostly ignored Eight-up. It started with my hold coming in on “The Cuckoo’s Calling” and then two ARCs I’d agreed to read and then September’s book club selection, then realizing that I needed to keep reading works by the five Indiana Authors Award honorees so I’d be done with them by the Award day. Truth — I’m done with two and well into a third and have realized I’ve saved the hardest ones for last. I am sure they are marvelous and excellent, but books of short fiction and nonfiction history are just not my thing. This is entirely the point though and I will press on.

Book club titles will still trump Eight-up but I’m going to try to adhere to the list more in the rest of the year. There are books that have been on there for a long time (World War Z, for example) that I would like to get read and moved off the list (or to make space for new titles!)

On the other hand, I’ve actually gotten a number of titles that I own read thanks to Eight-Up when normally that’s a stack that gets ignored.

The system is working and I’m excited to see if I can reach this goal by the end of the year.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Eight-up and Goal

  1. Glad to hear about your progress! My challenge has definitely been pre-empted more than not, but it’s still gotten me to read books I never would have remembered to pick up otherwise, so I count that as a win.

Leave a Reply

