Sookie Stackhouse: I finally get it

As a teen, I loved books by Dean Koonz and R.L. Stine.  Basically any sort of “weird” besides Stephen King.  Those scared me.  As a slightly older teen and young adult, I fell hard into romances, mostly bodice rippers with Pirates.  I took a turn through mysteries and thrillers too.  In college, I learned to appreciate Victorian Literature and Shakespeare’s plays.  Not Dickens or any of the poetry of those times.

The fantasy world was something that I learned to appreciate as an adult.  I’ve made up for some of it, but there are some big holes in my reading, none the less.

One of them was Sookie Stackhouse.  The books have been blurbed by other authors that I like.  And I’ve been prepping for a vacation that starts tomorrow (yes!).  So I decided to see how many are in the series and what is available from the local library.

I was delighted with what I found.  Most of them are available from the library.  And the series tops ten entries!  I had to dive in.

Over the last week, I finished books 1 through 3.  They are quick, fun reads, less than 300 pages each (so far.)  Nothing like the fat tomes that I normally try to find.  Book three raised the stakes just as I have come to expect from series that have the longevity like Sookie.  I don’t know what took me so long to get to these.  They are fun, have great characters and add to genre in a new way:  Sookie considers her special powers a disability and hindrance, not a benefit.  In fact, unlike many heroines from between the pages, Sookie doesn’t have a fabulous career; she’s a barmaid.  Her disability made school difficult and college wasn’t an option she was willing to try.  She is financially strapped and worries about how she is going to pay the bills (who can’t relate to that one!).

I’ve got several more queued to read over vacation, along with a few other titles.  I’m looking forward to the rest of the Sookie novels and seeing what else is in story for the plucky waitress.

What are you reading that is delighting you in unexpected ways?

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Sookie Stackhouse: I finally get it

  1. Bethany K. Warner says:

    I tried the first one back in the vampire book hey-day and wasn’t hooked in the slightest. Did I dismiss them too quickly?

  2. I think so. I thought the same thing when I picked up the first book a few years ago.

    The first one is a typical first book, but by book three you are hooked on the characters and in book 4 the stakes are raised significantly. I kept getting pulled back to them because people would say things like “books by Jim Butcher and Charlaine Harris.” I mean, being paired with Harry is about the best compliment that can be given to a book, in my mind. I’m really glad that I picked it up again.

Leave a Reply

