Book Banter: Reached

Title: Reached13125947
Author: Ally Condie
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: 512 pages
Where Stacie’s Copy Came From: Oshkosh Public Library
Plot Basics: Cassia, Ky and Xander are a critical piece of the success of the Rising.  Instead of being together, they are separated and sent to a place where they can have the most impact on the success of the Rising.  They find out who the Pilot is.  And what happens in secret doesn’t stay there.

Banter Points: I’m glad that this series is done.  I had really high hopes for it, but pretty covers do not always make for good books.  I’m not sure why I stuck with it other than I really wanted something to be different as I went along.  I wanted to trust that the cover art represented good writing and that the author would come through in the end.

Interesting, however, a friend’s pre-teen daughter is reading the series and is about half way through Crossed.  She adores it so far.  The word romantic almost slipped out when she was describing Cassia and Ky’s relationship.

Bummer Points:  I really thought that the story arch could have been better on this.  The three books are connected, but not tightly as I have come to expect from authors like Scott Westerfield.  Characters that I like best and found most interesting were secondary ones that seldom got much page time.  The three main characters were flat and not well developed in the end.

Stacie’s Recommendation:  I’m done with dystopian YA fantasy novels.  I haven’t read Hunger Games yet, and now I’m wondering if it really will live up to the hype.  I’m also not the target audience here, but I really loved The Uglies series and these just didn’t measure up.

It’s not often that the Word Nerds review books that they didn’t enjoy.  We love books and want to share good ones with other book lovers.  I had very high hopes for this series and felt compelled to finish my reviews after sort of liking book one.  Please, share your thoughts on negative reviews or this series.  Maybe it was the reader in this case.  I hope so.  I still love the covers.

Leave a Reply

