Top Ten Books on my Summer TBR list

Stacie and I swapped days so I could do the Broke and Bookish Top Ten Tuesday today.

My Summer TBR list is out of control, as is my TBR list in all seasons. But here are the books I’m hoping to get to this summer.

1. Skin Game, Jim Butcher (ok, yes, this comes out May 27, but I think that counts as summer). Two words: HARRY DRESDEN.

2. Severed Streets, Paul Cornell (another May release…) Urban fantasy/mystery comes back to London with a great bunch of misfit cops who have the ability to see all the supernatural weirdness going on.

3. The Silkworm, Robert Galbraith. While a lot of people didn’t love the Rowling-as-Galbraith book, I was hooked. Comorant Strike was such an unusual choice as a leading man that he was part of what made me keep reading.

4. The Competition, Marcia Clark. Yes, that Marcia Clark. Her courtroom mysteries are a blast, so much so that I got the security guard here at work hooked too.

5. A Better World, Marcus Sakey. I met Marcus at the beginning of his novel-writing career and his new borderline sci-fi stuff is very fun.

6. Brutal Youth, Anthony Breznican. The twitterverse connected me to Anthony Breznican. Watch for a Word Nerds Q&A with him this summer.

7. The Farseer Trilogy, Robin Hobb. I’ve got two airplane trips this summer and I’ve designated rereading this series as my airplane books of choice.

8. Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman. My book club wanted to read Neil and so while I’ve read it, I’m thrilled to read this one again.

9. Testing Trilogy, Joelle Charbonneau. I read book 1 when it came out and then decided to hold off on reading the second until book 3 was out (in July!) so I could read straight through. Also, Joelle is

10. The Last Policeman trilogy, Ben H. Winters. I’d heard about his books, but then somebody had the brilliant idea to put Ben on the Indiana Authors Award panel so I had the chance to meet him, see how smart and funny he is, and then officially put the books on my TBR pile.

 

 

Tagged

One thought on “Top Ten Books on my Summer TBR list

  1. ryandejonghe says:

    I just finished up BETTER WORLD, but it may have gone better for me to read the other one first. He did good bringing me up to date, but the feelings were missing.

    I should probably read OCEAN again, too. The first time was my first Gaiman experience; I was caught off guard. :)

    Happy summer reading!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

